There’s a Hole in My Sidewalk

(Dorothy) “How many times does a girl have to bang her head on a brick wall before it bleeds? (Rose),…….9!” From an episode of the Golden Girls

I have always loved this
poem by Portia Nelson, published in her book
There’s a Hole in My Sidewalk: The Romance of Self-Discovery. In order to create lives we love we need to become aware (without judgement) of the choices that we make that feel like falling into a big hole. What comes up for you as you read this poem?

Chapter I

I walk down the street.
There is a deep hole in the sidewalk
I fall in.
I am lost … I am helpless.
It isn’t my fault.
It takes forever to find a way out.

Chapter II

I walk down the same street.
There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.
I pretend I don’t see it.
I fall in again.
I can’t believe I am in the same place.
But, it isn’t my fault.
It still takes a long time to get out.

Chapter III

I walk down the same street.
There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.
see it is there.
I still fall in … it’s a habit … but,
my eyes are open.
I know where I am.
It is my fault.
I get out immediately.

Chapter IV

I walk down the same street.
There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.
I walk around it.

Chapter V

I walk down another street.

Coaching Tip:  Which chapter best describes where you are in your life right now? What choices to do you make on a daily weekly or monthly basis that are like falling into a big hole for you?  What could you do to turn the page and start over? What loving support could you put in place to make it happen?

Affirm: “I now release absolutely everything that causes me to be mean to myself.” Cheryl Richardson

Hope this inspires you to make better choices for yourself.  Have a fantastic week.

Here is the poem read and filmed in a very creative way. Enjoy!

YouTube – There’s a Hole in My Sidewalk!

Resource: For a very affordable online course on over coming self-sabotage that I recommend click here.

Image by: Kojach

2 thoughts on “There’s a Hole in My Sidewalk

Leave a Reply

