Healing Underlying Beliefs

“There are times when no matter how hard we ―try, we are unable to experience that which we say we want in our lives. We set a goal, keep trying to make it happen but it just doesn‘t occur. This experience can be frustrating and detrimental to our confidence and self esteem. But rather than judging ourselves, allowing this experience to define who we are, and developing or enforcing a belief as a result of this, the key is to use this opportunity as a place of exploration. By approaching the experience with curiosity and inquiry, you can unlock the belief that stops you from achieving your goal.” International Coach Academy

Today I was talking to my coach about how I was feeling overwhelmed  with the building of my new website and so we decided to explore some underlying beliefs. In the session I realized that deep down a part of me was feeling not smart enough to create a beautiful website by myself.

We did some inner child work, (which I love to do with my clients as well) and he asked me when was the first time I remember feeling not smart enough. After remembering something that happened to me at the age of 9, my coach and I then explored what I would say to a 9 year old who was not feeling smart enough.

This was my response: “You are so smart. You are beautiful and wonderful. You can do this. I am here to help you and if you feel stuck I will help you in any way I can. We can always ask other nice people to help us as well. Let’s take our time and have fun along the way. I will always be by your side. You are awesome for trying something so new and unknown.” This of course made me feel loved and I’m on my way to healing that belief and creating a wonderful new coaching website.

Coaching tip: Become aware of an area of your life you feel stuck in. What belief, opinion, or judgement could you be reinforcing by constantly creating this outcome?

Affirm: I am willing to look at my underlying beliefs and see them as tiny children that need my love.

Image by Lel4nd (be back soon in Dec)'s

2 thoughts on “Healing Underlying Beliefs

  1. Hi Jamie – This is Tim, another graduate of Kerri’s blogging class. Love the look of your blog and your message! I too struggle with underlying beliefs. I recently had a powerful experience looking at one of my restrictive belief’s origins – the idea of talking to my “inner child” as a loving, supportive adult really does work.

    I subscribed to your blog and look forward to reading future posts from you,

    Tim (see my blog at http://www.calmwithin.com)

Leave a Reply

